Personal Anecdote|Pet Ownership|Reptiles

Tipping the Scales

A heart-warming lesson from cold-blooded friends

Robert Sedam, DVM
6 min readNov 10, 2021

--

Greyscale photo of bearded dragon on a wooden log.
Photo by Ren Ran on Unsplash

In case you’re unfamiliar with them, Bearded Dragons can be extraordinary pets. They are friendly, generally amenable to handling, and have relatively few husbandry requirements when compared to the more tropical species of reptiles and amphibians.

They are often labeled as a good beginner pet for people that are looking to own an exotic pet. While I certainly would never support the illegal importation of exotic species for pet purposes; beardies are often captive bred now for the purpose of keeping them as pets.

For this story, we’ll have to go back in time a couple of years…

Okay, maybe more like 17 years — you caught me.

The year is 2004, and I am in eighth grade. Like most great coming-of-age stories, I have a small, tight-knit group of friends, and we hang out pretty much all the time playing video games, riding bikes, having Nerf gun fights, and whatever else 13-year olds did in 2004.

We had a pet dog and cat, so I got the full experience of these pets. However, I also knew that I wanted to become a veterinarian, so naturally, I wanted more. I think it was a show on Animal Planet; though it could have been…

--

--

Robert Sedam, DVM

Small animal veterinarian hoping to provide honest insight into the veterinary profession. Find me at pawspressplay.com. Contact: pawspressplay@gmail.com