February Love | Episode 10

And They Called It Puppy Love

This is the story of Lilly and the love of her life, Piper.

Nancy Oglesby
Petness
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2023

--

Lilly Comes Home / 7 Weeks Old / 3 Pounds / Author photo.

I used to volunteer at an animal shelter nearby, and one weekend in August 2014, we were reducing the adoption fee by 75%.

A few times a year, no-kill shelters will host big adoption events and bring in dogs from nearby counties that euthanize animals if no one claims them in a week or two. It’s a life-saving act of love and results in saving a lot of animals.

When I walked into the intake department that Saturday morning, the vet, who knew I was looking for a companion for my recent rescue, told me to go check out the little one in the back before she popped her in her pocket and snuck her home. As with many shelter workers, one more rescue can create issues at home. Partners tend to be incredibly understanding, but there’s often that ‘just one more’ line.

When I got in the back I saw a 3-pound fluffball, 7 weeks old, in a crate designed for a German Shepherd, and she was all by herself! I checked that my pockets were deep enough … Yep!

At that very moment, I became her foster mom. I had no idea if I was up for a teensy pup, but I was happy to give her a safe space.

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
Petness
Writer for

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication