Dogs Don’t Do Things Because They “Should”

They don’t worry about slowing down or aging either

Susan Wheelock
Petness

--

My girls waiting for a snack after a long walk

I have never caught my dogs complaining about their aches and pains, or their fear of death. Which is not to say that they don’t have aches and pains or that they’re not getting older. We are all considered seniors now and while I complain about it, they could not care less.

What they do care about is when dinner will be served, where the treat bin is at the moment, and when will those beautiful, mint-green tennis balls make their first appearance of the day?

They live for cuddles, walks, and treats, always wagging their tails. I swear, I want to be a dog.

My formidable friend, Darlene, is a fitness freak and body builder, who is exceptionally terrified of aging and death. She spends a great deal of time in the gym working out, or at the spa having treatments. She sees doctors often, worrying about a new wrinkle or spot on her skin. She spends an inordinate amount of time and money trying to avoid the inevitable.

Though well-meaning, Darlene lectures me about my health and habits. I’m not strength-training enough, I’m eating too much cake (only for birthdays, really) and I should stop drinking coffee (oh, the horror!)

--

--

Susan Wheelock
Petness

Halloween loving retired public servant, and mom of three. Major league dog lover. Trying to age well. Always searching for the middle ground.