Furry Duos: Lucky and Ramzy

Lucky and Ramzy’s Journey to Inseparable Companionship

Stace
Petness
4 min readMay 16, 2023

--

Lucky and Ramzy . Photos by author.

Owning a pet dog is an enriching experience, but the joy intensifies when you have not just one but two furry friends by your side. Double the wagging tails, double the cuddles, and double the love! Let me take you on a heartfelt journey as I share the story of my beloved canine companions, Lucky and Ramzy.

Lucky, a stray dog, stumbled into our lives through a serendipitous twist of fate. My cousin discovered her on a desolate beach, her eyes filled with longing and abandonment. Recognizing that he couldn’t provide the care she needed, he entrusted her to our loving embrace. As a family with an unyielding adoration for animals, my mother and I instantaneously fell head over heels for Lucky and warmly welcomed her into our home.

At first, Lucky was shy and scared, bearing the marks of a difficult past. However, as days turned into weeks, she grew comfortable in our loving environment. Lucky was an emotional and fiercely protective dog, forming a deep attachment to our family. She had an unwavering loyalty, making her the perfect guardian of our home. No stranger dared to pass by without her vigilant eyes and warning barks. Fireworks were one of Lucky’s fears, and whenever the night sky dazzled with pyrotechnic displays, she sought refuge under the dining table, trembling with apprehension. We comforted her during these moments, ensuring she felt secure by allowing her to sleep in our bedroom, enveloped in a haven of love and protection.

Lucky found joy and liberation in the water, especially during summer. Just beyond our backyard, a babbling creek awaited her. It became her sanctuary, a place where she could immerse herself in the cool, refreshing embrace of the water. On days when my dad went out to catch fish with his net, Lucky would eagerly join him, revelling in the opportunity to swim alongside him. These moments by the creek brought out her playful spirit and added an extra sparkle to her eyes as if the water held the key to her happiness.

The arrival of Ramzy in our lives was another extraordinary twist of fate. Originally intended as a gift for my godmother, destiny intervened once more. On the way home from a family gathering, my mother and grandmother chanced upon an adorable litter of puppies. Reminded of my godmother’s desire for a furry companion, my mother brought Ramzy home, planning to deliver him later.

Oh, the indelible memory of the first time I saw Ramzy! He was a small bundle of pure joy, his pristine white fur adorned with enchanting brown spots. He resembled a plush toy, irresistibly huggable and immensely lovable. When my brother and I began playing with him, he reciprocated with boundless energy, bringing an exuberant liveliness to our home. However, when the time came for my godmother to take him away, my brother and I were overcome with tears. The thought of bidding farewell to this playful little ball of fur felt unbearable.

Moved by our emotional turmoil, my mother contemplated the idea of keeping Ramzy, despite the reservations of my grandmother. Managing two dogs, especially with young children in the house, presented its own challenges. Nevertheless, my brother and I persisted, highlighting the added security and love that having two dogs would bring to our family. Our unwavering determination paid off, and our family expanded to include both Lucky and Ramzy.

While Lucky initially grappled with sharing our love and attention with Ramzy, their relationship transformed. They evolved into inseparable companions, forming an unbreakable bond through shared adventures, playful activities, and a language unique to them — expressed through barks and gestures. Witnessing their lively chase games, spirited tug-of-war battles, and friendly wrestling matches filled our hearts with pure joy, painting a vibrant picture of their profound connection.

Sunday bath times were a special event for both Lucky and Ramzy, albeit one they disliked. They seemed to have an uncanny ability to sense when it was time for their bath, and both would try to hide. Nevertheless, we ensured they received regular grooming, especially when they spent time outdoors exploring and getting dirty. The only occasions they were confined were during home parties when guests were uncomfortable around dogs.

The four-legged companions became an integral part of our family, spreading smiles, laughter, and an abundance of happiness in our daily lives. However, a few years before my marriage, tragedy struck. Lucky passed away first in her old age, followed closely by Ramzy. Ramzy’s grief over losing his beloved companion led to his own decline in health. Despite our best efforts to cheer him up, he eventually succumbed to sorrow.
The loss of Lucky and Ramzy devastated our family, especially me, as I had dreamed of having them by my side on my big day. I had imagined capturing beautiful moments with them, adorned with a coral bow for Lucky and a black one for Ramzy. However, life doesn’t always unfold as we envision.

Lucky and Ramzy were an extraordinary duo, bringing boundless affection and charm into our lives. Their memories will forever remain etched in our hearts. The joy they brought, the love they shared, and the lessons they taught us about loyalty and companionship will always be cherished.

--

--

Stace
Petness

Lifelong learner and storyteller. Writing to express, inspire, and connect. Join me in this creative journey 💕📚