Harriett & Humphrey

a. a. gallagher
Petness
Published in
4 min readJul 6, 2021

--

When Would-Be Robbers Visited!

Image by the author — “Harriett” Our Little Guard Dog!

This happened on a dark and wintery night a couple of years ago. Well, it was about 4.30 am to be more precise.

I had woken up with a start because I had smelled cigarette smoke and we don’t smoke!

Humphrey, our gorgeous nearly 16-year-old black labrador was asleep in his kennel in the courtyard just outside our bedroom door. And Harriett, our little Jack Russel/Miniature Fox Terrier cross, was asleep on the end of our bed. Well, to cut a long story short I turned on the courtyard light and let Harriett out and as I did so I heard a noise but ignored it as I felt that there was nothing to be concerned about.

She shot out and seemed to take forever returning from carrying out her ablutions. I called and called but the little brat just ignored me. I was not worried as I knew she couldn’t get through the big, old heavy wooden garden gate and out of our courtyard.

There was barking in the distance but again I was unworried as I knew it couldn’t possibly be her or dear Humphrey, who was old and deaf, and apart from one extremely loud Woof, hadn’t bothered to venture out of his kennel.

--

--

a. a. gallagher
Petness

Thank you for reading & following. I love a jolly good story: I write short stories, enviro. poetry, and kids’ rhymes. Prev. Education includes a. Dip. S.R.M.