Is a French Bulldog Right for You?

Five facts about the Frenchie to help you make your decision.

Kelsey Galipeau
Petness
7 min readJul 20, 2021

--

Black and white French Bulldog with stick in its mouth.
Photo by Jens Mahnke from Pexels

The French Bulldog, or “Frenchie” as some may say, is a unique breed of dog that has so much to offer its loving owners. I mean really, their cute stalky bodies, smushy faces, and big bat-ears can turn even a cat-person into a die-hard Frenchie lover.

I have been a Frenchie owner for almost a year now and, my God, has my world changed…mostly for the better! But that doesn’t mean that owning one of these bat-pigs doesn’t come with its challenges, and that’s where you must decide whether it’s worth the challenge or not. So, let’s look at five reasons why owning a Frenchie could be the best or the worst decision your animal-loving heart could make.

Affectionate Lap Dogs

Have you ever thought, “Man, driving would be so much better with a dog on my lap”? or perhaps, “I could get more writing done with a dog constantly licking my face”? Well, if you have, I have a great psychiatrist I can refer you to. If you’re like the rest of the world, neither of those things would be very desirable or productive.

With that being said, Frenchie’s don’t care much about what you think, they’re here to spread love however they can! That means, they want to be with you 100% of the time whether you like it or not. Frenchie’s are natural lap dogs, so if you think you can get away with writing your Medium articles on the couch with some hot tea and a French Bulldog on the cushion next to you, you’re living in a fantasy that I would love to be a part of. Maybe you can get some work done after your Frenchie falls asleep in your bed at midnight i.e., my current situation.

The affection doesn’t stop there. I can tell you that half of my day is spent with Nilla’s, my 15-month-old trouble-maker, residual slobber on my face. Frenchie’s do not have a limited number of kisses to give and, for that, I’m actually thankful. Because when you’re coming home from a day of work where nothing has gone right, I can promise you, some licks to the face and a shake of the butt will make you forget you even had a job (there’s your living fantasy!)

So, if you’re the kind of person that never wants alone time and welcomes all the doggy-kisses in the world, a Frenchie may just be your perfect fit!

The Smelly Potato

No, I’m not talking about your grandmother’s week-old potatoes in the back of the cupboard. I’m kindly referring to the toots that come out of your Frenchie’s rear-end. This breed is well-known for its excessive flatulence and while your Frenchie may not care, your nose definitely will.

Picture this: You’re in a Zoom meeting with your boss and directors, about to give the biggest presentation of your life when your potato with legs walks in and lets out a big fat one. As your nose clogs with that unholy sent, you bolt out of that room, never having the chance to complete your presentation and get the promotion of your dreams.

…OK that was a little dramatic. However, the level of stank isn’t. You may need to double-check that your Frenchie didn’t actually have an accident because some days, the farts might just be that bad.

There are ways to combat excessive farting, one being the use of a slow feeder. This prevents your dog or pup from inhaling their food a minute after you put the bowl down, allowing for less air to be ingested and overall digestion to run smoothly. My fiancé and I did this with Nilla when she was a puppy and it seemed to really help!

Lastly, if you’re of the comedic breed, a few long, slow farts here and there when your pup is sleeping, will no doubt have you laughing for the rest of the night.

Attenchie for the Frenchie

Ready or not, here they come! You can run, but you can’t hide from this breed. Remember when we talked about how Frenchie’s spread the love and want to be with you all the time? Well, get ready for that time to be all about them!

Frenchie’s absolutely love attention. In fact, when your attention is not on them for whatever unimportant reason you have, they will not hesitate to let you know. For example, I’ll be sitting on the couch eating my breakfast and watching a new episode of trash TV when Nilla decides to sit directly in front of me and stare at me until I look at her. I know what you’re thinking, “She just wants your food” and that’s what I thought too until she showed no interest in it after I tested her. So, I put my food down and tried to continue my show and ignore the bat ears cutting off each end of the screen. Then, I feel a paw slapping my arm three times. I look at Nilla and she is staring me dead in the eyes as if to say “Mom, how could you? I am right here. I deserve attention!”

Another prime example of their incessant need for attention is when my fiancé tries to complete his nightly routine: brush teeth, use the bathroom, turn off lights, go to bed; Nilla will not have these tasks completed without her. She will stretch up against his leg and paw at him until he picks her up and completes the tasks with her in his arms (don’t even ask about the bathroom one).

So, the bottom line is, Frenchie’s need a lot of attention. They need to know they are loved and are a part of your life fully and completely. Only you know the demands of your schedule and if you feel you can give them the attention they need. Like a child, they depend on you for just about everything.

But, why not give them attention when, to them, you are their whole world?

Snoring Beauty

If you made it this far, congratulations, you have a serious interest in getting a Frenchie!

Unlike most dogs, Frenchie’s are of the brachycephalic breed just like Pugs or Boston Terriers. This literally means “short-headed”. Most dogs have long snouts where this breed is flat-faced which can cause breathing issues. Thankfully, my Nilla has not had any breathing issues whatsoever, but that doesn’t mean she is immune to one of the more annoying assets of the French Bulldog: Snoring.

Now, I’m not saying that Frenchie’s are the only dogs that snore but because of their flat-nosed nature, they are more likely to snore than other breeds. Nilla sleeps right in between my fiancé and I (re-read reason 1 and 3 if you want to know why) and she snores like a grown man most nights. Before getting Nilla, this was one of the biggest toss-ups to whether I pulled the trigger or not, seeing as when my fiancé snores, I kick him (just a little bit) to wake him up and say “Babe, you’re snoring again”.

So, when Nilla started sleeping in bed with us since she would not stop whining in her kennel, I was petrified of what was to come. However, I’ve been able to change my perspective about her snoring. Now I think of her noises as a confirmation that she is comfortable, happy, and rested. Thinking of it this way has allowed me to smile through the pain and also to remember to pop some earplugs in before shutting the lights off.

If you’re not big into snoring like me, remember that your Frenchie’s anatomy is different than other dogs and that their loud noises, cuddly nature, and ability to take up 75% of the bed are their way of showing they feel safe and comfortable in your family.

The Playdate

What do you do for a living? This might seem like an easy question to answer, but I want you to sit down and really think about your day-to-day. Do you work in a physically demanding environment? Does your job require your brain to be focused nonstop throughout the day? Is your job fast-paced or slow-paced? Do you work nights or days?

All these factors matter in your decision to get a Frenchie. Why? Because when you get home, your work will not be done. Sure, you’ll get the most adorable greeting from your French with lots of kisses and shakes of the bottom, but your Frenchie has been waiting for you to get home so they can do the one thing they are good at…play!

Contrary to popular belief, these pups have some serious energy. If they are cooped up in the house all day, they will want nothing other than to run around the yard, chase some balls or frisbees and play “catch me!” with their favorite owner. If you are too tired to do this after a long day (trust me, I get it), then maybe think about getting a dog with even less energy. Because if your Frenchie can’t let out that pent-up energy during playtime, they might turn to your shoes or your furniture.

One loophole to the playdate is to bring your Frenchie to a local dog park where they can run as free as can be and wrestle with all the other small dogs. After an hour or two, their energy will be shot, and they will have a little nap before they are ready to play again.

There are a lot of factors to think about when getting a French Bulldog and if none of the negatives in this article have scared you away, then you will be an excellent Frenchie owner. These loving, playful, and downright hilarious dogs are known to be great apartment dogs and fantastic with children and families. I hope these tips and insights have helped in your decision whether to get a Frenchie. If you do get a bat-pig, you’ll never be alone or short of love again!

--

--

Kelsey Galipeau
Petness
Writer for

Writer, Author, Blogger, and Freelancer at TheMentalPencil.com, Nurse, Psychology, Happiness, Mindfulness, Lover of love, and Advocate for following dreams.