No, It Was Not Just a Dog

Identity crisis after losing my dog

Niki Tisza
Petness

--

Mango ( a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel dog) pictured at 3 different places. 1. park in Ireland. 2. beach in New Zealand. 3. downtown Toronto in Canada
Mango (Cavalier King Charles Spaniel) the globetrotter — picture by Niki Tisza

I lost my dog, Mango.

I was heartbroken.

She was not just a dog.

She was love.

Pet love is real love

Losing a pet is as painful as losing someone we love. I know because both happened to me. But,

  • Why do I still feel embarrassed talking about the death of my beloved pet?
  • Why does society treat losing a pet with a lack of empathy?
  • Am I conditioned by society to carry on as if nothing happened?
  • Why taking bereavement days after losing a pet isn’t acceptable?
  • Why do I feel the need to justify and explain my pain to people?
  • Why does society belittle loving & losing a pet?
  • Why are there no support groups for people grieving pets?

I couldn’t just pretend her passing didn’t happen. I don’t care if people don’t understand my attachment to her. Because one thing I know about love is that love is irrational.

I cancelled events because I was grieving.

I wasn’t ready to mingle and show my usual cheerful self to people.

--

--