Should a bird starve free, or live caged?

Jasmine Jin
Petness
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2023

Hi, this piece is not “informative”. Rather, I seek to initiate a discussion, a debate even, about a dilemma I encountered during my trip to a park in Xishuangbanna.

By Author

In the pond of the park, the above phenomenon occurred. A swan ignored the fish surrounding it and poked around for snack wrappings. This was the first sign to me that animals here weren’t treated fairly.

By author

Walking near the bird section, I heard loud electronic music booming around the birds. Birds there looked dull, were forced to interact with aggressive visitors, and were confined to very limited space.

By author

As a bird lover, I wanted to flee the place as soon as possible. I could not dissuade other tourists from not feeding the birds. All I could do was walk away. But just as I was about to do so, I heard an anguished series of twittering from a nearby cage.

By author

By experience, I could tell that a bird was suffering, and quickly went to investigate. One of the parrots had accidentally left her cage and can’t get back.

Inside the cage is her mate

Now lets look at the options I have available to me.

  1. Report the situation to park managers, which will most likely result in the recapture of the parrot despite the ill-treatment there.
  2. Walk away knowing the parrot is at risk of starvation (raised birds very likely don’t know how to hunt in the wild).

What should I do?

--

--