The Responsible Decision to Leave Our Best Friend Home

Saying no even when they beg for yes

Jill (Conquering Cognitions)
Petness

--

A small dog looking out the window of a house on a snowy day.
Image by keithfoust from Pixabay

I live in Colorado — a state with beautiful outdoor spaces and plenty of hiking trails and backcountry skiing opportunities.

My dog, Molly, loves going on adventures with me and especially likes the snow. When she sees me putting on my outdoor gear, she begins excitedly running around the house until it is time to go.

Molly is a wonderful hiking and exploring companion, and I feel safer traveling in a pack, but sometimes she has to stay home.

If I’m hiking on a hot day, my black, long-haired pup will be uncomfortable, and I don’t want to risk her health. Some winter activities are not suitable for my dog. It is hard to leave Molly behind when she is begging to go, but it’s the right decision.

Not all dog parents who explore and play in Colorado choose to keep their canines home.

Two weeks ago, the local news was buzzing about a dog found alive days after being lost in an avalanche near Monarch Pass in Colorado.

A snowboarder, skier, and their dog were backcountry skiing when they were caught in a snow slide. The skier was able to deploy his avalanche airbag system, keeping him on the surface of the snow. When he stopped sliding, he located…

--

--

Jill (Conquering Cognitions)
Petness

PsyD, Clinical Psychologist | Writer | Words in Human Parts, Forge, Better Humans | Life Lessons Supported by Science