My trusty camera, Olympus XA2/ ppp’s camera review

Vintage camera review of the compact camera Olympus XA2 with Flash

ppp
pforppp Film
5 min readJul 28, 2019

--

with Fujicolor C200

Olympus XA2, which is produced in 1980–86 in Tokyo, is older than me. I took it with me when I travel, hang out with friends and even for everyday use. This little old camera seldom disappointed me!

User-friendly pocket camera

The Olympus XA2 has an all-plastic body so it’s only ~200g weight. It was one of the smallest rangefinder cameras that Olympus of Japan ever made.

When I put other cameras like Fujifilm simple Ace or Diana F in my pocket, some shots would be wasted. Because their shutter released accidentally. What’s really nice is the Olympus XA2 design prevents the problem. A closed clamshell will automatically lock the shutter release, thus I don’t have to worry about accidentally pressing it.

Best for point and shoot

Olympus XA2 is a zone focus camera and has in three groups: close (1.2m-1.8m), near (1.2m-) and far (6.3m-infinity). As you look through the lens, you learn to figure out how far away the camera will focus based on these settings. In some ways, this is easier than other methods.

The focus resets to the middle setting every time you close the case and that’s basically where you should leave it for most pictures, just point and click. There’s no need to adjust anything as it has an automatic exposure system.

Also, its shutter sound is very soft. I could take a photo at a cat closely and it didn’t run away then.

“Reasonable price” on eBay

I finally bid an Olympus XA2 with an A11 Flash unit at HKD 732 (~£76) On eBay after I failed to bid some other cheaper XA2.

Yes Yes, £76 plus ~£20 shipping from UK to Hong Kong may not a “Best” price. However, compared to the camera stores in Hong Kong, an Olympus XA2 with A11 Flash was priced at no less than £125 at that moment.

.

.

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

Be best friends with your camera and understand your films

Check out this film review 😊

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

Under the sun

Taken in Taiwan with Fujifilm x-Tra 800

Indoor without Flash

with Fujicolor C200

Take a deep breath and press the shutter gently. Listen to the shutter until you hear the second “tok” sound before moving.

Honestly, practice makes perfect. To take a better photo, not only practice choosing the best angle and location and also practice the gesture of taking it.

With Kodak UltraMax 400

Indoor with Flash

I personally don’t like to use flash. A11 flash is small and detachable. I tried to shot with flash level 100 and the light was not too strong. I’ll consider taking photos with flash in parties or my friends’ gathering.

Flash Experiment

Left: No Flash/ Center: A11 Flash level 100/ Right: A11 Flash level 400

If the camera distance is more than 5m, flash level 400 is a better choice.

If the distance between the object and the camera is around 2m (see below photos), I’d suggest using level 100. The comparisons show the different

Night without Flash

Shutter speed range is 2 secs. to 1/750. You may look through the viewfinder to check the red indicator light to see if it’s underexposed.

Taking photo of kids at night without flash is not a good idea……no matter how stable are your hands…..

Weakness

The minimum focusing distance of Olympus XA2 is 1.2m. ummmmmm… What I learn from the blurry photo is ….

Don’t be silly …. Shoot these objects with iPhone.

Thanks for watching 💋

We will see what comes next, but for sure I’ll keep taking a camera with me everywhere.

--

--

ppp
pforppp Film

香港女生👧🏻🇭🇰 UXUI designer in Hong Kong. [[ #travel #film photography #movie #design ]] Try to capture the beauty in everything around me💛💛