10 Days in London. 6 Rolls of film / ppp’s film review 👧🏻 🇬🇧

Film review of Rollei Vario Chrome, Tudorcolour XLX 200, Lomography ISO 800, Lomography F2 400 and Kodak Ultramax 400

ppp
pforppp Film
7 min readAug 11, 2019

--

I’ve been acquiring my first film camera — Nikon FM2 camera for roughly 5 years ago. I shot at least one roll per month in the first year. However, my enthusiasm had dipped then. I made up many reasons for giving up on taking new photos in my mind.

For example, the FM2 is heavy. It’s raining today. The camera is big for my handbag. Crowded street. Too dark at night. etc…

When I decided to regain my hobbies at the beginning of 2019, my first thought was photography.

I took with me the Nikon FM2 and my trusty Olympus XA2 when I travelled to London during the Easter holiday in 2019.

Remark: I’m not a professional photographer and only shoot for fun. No further edit after scanning the films.

1st roll: Tudorcolour XLX 200 (expired) / Olympus XA

^ This’ s my favourite photo on the trip ❤️
Taken in Regent’s Park on Holy Saturday

The film expired in 2014. I really love Tudorcolour XLX 200. Such a shame it was discontinued.

This film works well with blue and green ranges. The colour is so comfortable to look at. This wonderful film gives a strong saturation with warm colour. Using expired film compounds the uncertainty, but these films hold up well and I usually shot it normally.

^ Regent’s Park was full of love 👫👭👬
Cherry blossoms there were blooming 🌸🌸🌸

I found some on Taobao in last year — and bought quite a bit. Recently I searched it online, unfortunately, they became a bit inflated. Heard rumour has it that it’ s a repackaged Fujifilm Superia 200. I don’t think I’ll buy it again and I’ll think twice in future before I load my camera with a Tudorcolour.

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

Be the best friends with your camera

Check out this camera review of Olympus XA2😊

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

2nd roll: Tudorcolour XLX 200 (expired)/ Olympus XA2

This roll of Tudorcolour presented a different character. It increases grain and looks a bit fogged. Sometimes it gets a little murky.

I like it!

^ Regent’s Park was covered in daisies and sunbather.
They called it “Daisy bathing” ☀️🌳🌼
The gooses were huge and fatty 🦆🦆 ^
^ Broccoli in purple colour?! Haha 🥦💜
^ this’ s not a double exposure picture. The quote is a neon light on the wall inside a cafe
^ Looked fine when under-exposure

3rd roll: Rollei Vario Chrome/ Nikon FM2

“What??!??!?!?!?!?!?!” I was shocked looking at the photos.

I knew Rollei Vario Chrome had a vintage look when I bought it. However, I don’t expect these photos look similar to the Instagram pictures. They look extremely over-exposed but I’m sure they are not!!! After I read some reviews, I think the film performed as it should be.

Right: Happy 70th! I saw a group of friends was celebrating someone’s 70th birthday (I guess) when I was walking along the Thames. Such a shame the reflection on the window covered the number on the balloon 🎈 ^

The most important thing is, some film reviews pointed out that it’s a re-packeted expired film! Misleading marketing information fooled the customers?!

I’m not a fan of this film. I’ve got one roll left and will sell it out via Carousell.

^ The wall was not white in color……
^ lost all the detail of the sky. It’s sunset…….
^ Left: A double exposure photo. I shot the wing neon light on a window display and then the dinosaur neon light

4th roll: Lomography F² 400/ Nikon FM2

frame burn! yeahhhhh

Lomography F² 400 gives a strong saturation with cool colour and a painterly grain. This fantastic film produces refined colors with a beautifully unique tone.

Perfect for a sunny day!

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

Do you like double exposures photos?

Check out the simple tricks to take stunning photos 😃

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

^ Broccoli in purple colour 🥦💜

5th roll: Lomography iso 800/ Olympus XA2

^ I have high expectation of this film, however………

6th roll: Lomography iso 800/ Olympus XA2

^ The wind is biting outside after sunset. Taken in Covent Garden.
^ Shooting flower at night with Olympus XA2 was not a good idea. Shooting with flash made it worse. 🤦🏻‍♀️

Thanks for watching 💋

Do you know that?
You can clap UP TO 50 hands for each story!

--

--

ppp
pforppp Film

香港女生👧🏻🇭🇰 UXUI designer in Hong Kong. [[ #travel #film photography #movie #design ]] Try to capture the beauty in everything around me💛💛