#MakeoverMonday2018 — Week 45

The U.S. population projected from 2016–2060

Pat Vu
Pat Vu
2 min readNov 26, 2018

--

Original Article

Original Viz

What I like from this viz:

  • The line chart is clear and catch the eye.
  • The label and color choice clearly separate the two age groups.
  • The title is captivating, along with interesting stick figures to show the growth in population

What I don’t like:

  • The column charts seem to add no value, the line chart itself is sufficient to deliver the message which is clearly defined in the title.
  • The use of column charts on the time series axis does not make the best visual effect because the audiences look at three separate dual columns, not a continuous time series analysis.

For my revision, I want to send a different message from the original viz. In particular, I want to compare the black and Asian American population, those are more prominent in terms of community size, to those lesser in population size, which are Native American & Alaska Natives and Native Hawaiian & Pacific Islanders.

My revision viz

In my viz, you can see:

  • The four minorities communities in the U.S. are separated from each other by a thin line and colors.
  • The overall comparison of the total population over time based on the dot plot
  • The projected number of population growth (see pic below)
Hover on the number, you can see the projected number of population growth.

--

--

Pat Vu
Pat Vu
0 Followers

I'm a beginner in Tableau