It takes a village to…get a PhD

you are not alone

Sah. V. Lasso
PhD corner
1 min readMar 26, 2018

--

Photo by Dylan Gillis on Unsplash

In the whole PhD process I confess I felt lonely.

Maybe because I know some PhD students that have projects that are part of bigger projects with more people involved and my project is basically solo.

But after some reflection time ( aka: sleepless nights full of red bull working or sleepless nights worried about my PhD project), I notice that even if I think its a bit lonely…it takes a village to get a PhD.

Sometimes it can be tricky to see it but there is a lot of people involved:

  • supervisors
  • friends
  • family
  • coworkers
  • journal reviewers ( that will give feedback on your papers)
  • conference peers that we meet
  • industry partners

It is a network of people that will have a degree of influence on the PhD, on my professional and personal life as well.

It takes a village to raise a kid, to get a PhD, to develop ourselves…it makes me feel so grateful and fortunate to have this network of people around me in this academic path…it would take the whole life to thank them enough :)

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
PhD corner

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.