Life in the Ph.D. extension

because there is life in this side…

Sah. V. Lasso
PhD corner
2 min readOct 15, 2018

--

“white printer paper lot” by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Yeah, so…I couldn´t finish my Ph.D. in the original deadline.

Reasons? Many!

  1. a lot of bumps in the road during my personal life
  2. a lot of bumps in the road during my data collection & analysis
  3. a lot of bumps in the road in my mental health

In a nutshell…it´s a bumpy/crazy/ rollercoaster like…road.

“curved concrete road beside grass” by Jannes Glas on Unsplash

But thanks to the extension I didn´t throw everything in the air and ran…I´m here working hard to finish this thesis.

I´m in a point where although it can be very tempting to quit, quit is not an option anymore.

After spending around 3,5 years of my life working on this project I feel the need to finish it. It´s a basic need now, like surviving.

In the end, I got a 5-month extension of my Ph.D. and I will work my ass to finish it on time, there is no plan B here.

So yes, there is life in the extension and I hope life is better after I deliver this thesis.

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
PhD corner

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.