There is no weekend…part 2

It is Sunday and guess where I am now?

Sah. V. Lasso
PhD corner
2 min readDec 10, 2017

--

Yeah, I am in my office!

It could be my desk, but my desk is really messy ( this is from StockSnap)

I have a deadline for Monday morning and I came to work today. The funny part is : other people also are working today!

Academic life is weird. You kind of have no time to go home, no weekends…I have days that I arrive in the office at 8 am and work until 7 pm , or days I come to work on Saturday and Sunday!

The weird / funny part is that by now, after 2 years of my PhD I´m really used with my office, it is like home…I have clothes here, shoes, bags, food…I basically spend more time here than in my own apartment!

Don´t get me wrong…I´m not complaining, I really like my office and the people I share office with: Agata is another PhD and basically one of my best friends here, Mikkael is a research assistant and basically “one of the girls” (because he is already so used with me and Agata talking all day and putting Xmas decoration on his desk!), Milene is a really friendly guest professor, and occasionally Kamila, who is also a PhD here and basically my sister by now.

These people make my day better and work better also. :)

I guess that to survive and enjoy the whole PhD you need to have nice and good people around you, not only to help you with your data analysis on a Saturday afternoon but also to watch Star Wars on a Friday night after a long day of work.

Just like in another job, in the academic life, people are the best part of work, some surprise you for good, others surprise you…just by surprising you!

And other days it is just a Sunday afternoon and you are by yourself in your quiet office finishing the paper to send to your supervisor…

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
PhD corner

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.