What does ‘tk’ mean?

Phil Oakley
[tktk]
Published in
1 min readFeb 6, 2017

tk is an acronym for ‘to come’. The letter combination ‘tk’ is rare in the English language, so writers, publishers, and journalists use it for when they don’t have certain information, or when detail will be filled in later. For example:

This was an incredibly contentious issue for [tktk name], because at the time, technology was in the midst of an industry shift. On [tktk date] 1987…

I use tk a lot in my own writing — if reading or editing a first draft of mine, it will be littered with tk notes, for quotes, extra information, whatever. During the second and third draft process, I edit these out by doing a ‘find’ for tk references in my text editor and fill in what needs to go there. In light of this, I thought it was a great name for my blog and website.

Unlisted

--

--

Phil Oakley
[tktk]
Editor for

Living for Jesus Christ, my Saviour. @tech_x365 editor at @lightreading. Motorsport nerd. Media aficionado.<3 @boatsandbees.