Eagles look like they are ready to fire on all cylinders

Ashley Shafer: From a woman’s perspective

Ashley Shafer
Philadelphia Football Stories
4 min readJun 27, 2017

--

Ashley Shafer

Ladies and Gents, here we are in the dog days of summer 2017; pretty much the worst time of year for sports fans.

Basketball and hockey just ended, neither of which had a Philadelphia team anywhere to be seen and then there’s baseball…don’t even get me started on the Phillies. It has been a very gloomy Philadelphia sports scene in our city lately but with that said, in the distance I see a silver lining, a light shinning through in the distance.

That light, if you haven’t guessed yet, is our Philadelphia Eagles! What a marvelous appetizer it has been to see my boys running around the Nova Care Complex once again during voluntary and mandatory OTA’s.

It seems like yesterday I was on the sidelines watching Jeremy Maclin and LeSean McCoy prepping for the upcoming season and I blink and it’s 2017 and so much has changed. Where has the time gone?

Change can be depressing when you think about some of the amazing players that we used to have. But change can be good, and looking at this upcoming year I see a whole lot of good and potential and talent and I honestly can’t freakin’ wait to see some of these games.

The start of the season still feels like an eternity away though, so to get us through the next two months lets chat about what I’m looking forward to the most in this upcoming season.

First and foremost, our offense has the chance to be something really special. Carson Wentz is in his second year as our leader and seems to have a undeniable air of confidence about him.

Everything I have heard and seen for myself shows me that he is taking all the steps to be the best he can be.

With that, it appears as if the front office is doing their part as well, the signings of Jeffrey and Smith instantly triple the talent that Carson was working with last year.

I’ve seen some plays during OTA’s between Wentz and Alshon Jeffery where my jaw literally dropped. Now I know its only Mini-camp and this isn’t live football, but the talent and possibilities between Wentz and Jeffrey are real.

I’m also really excited about this kid Donnel Pumphrey. He obviously is taking advantage of his opportunities and the coaching staff is taking notice to his unquestionable skills. I truly believe that this young man can be electric and the fact that he is learning behind my favorite player on the entire planet, my Shorty Bop Darren Sproles, makes me like him even more.

Our offensive line, in my opinion, is one of the best in all of football and with the addition of LeGarrette Blount, I think our days of heartbreaking third and fourth and one yard are a thing of the past.

A little birdy has also told me that Nelson Agholor has been pretty darn impressive himself thus far in the off season (wink wink)… just saying. Basically, this year our Birds on Offense are going to be week in and week out must watch TV!

Now our Defense is a slightly different story. There are still some question marks but from what I have seen up until now I’m far more optimistic than I was before OTA’s.

Derek Barnett is going to be something special. There, I said it! Our first round pick this year has done nothing but impress everyone from his coaches to his teammates.

For all the times I have questioned Howie Roseman and the Eagles ability to draft in the first round, I gotta say I think they got this one right.

I really like this kid and can’t wait to see him get after opposing quarterbacks.

In the secondary I am pleasantly surprised by our third-round pick out of West Virginia Rasul Douglas.

To have a Rookie cornerback come in and basically fight his way into, what looks like, a starting position is very impressive. And on the other side of the field I am really looking forward to seeing Jalen Mills play in year two.

I don’t know if it the green hair or his never faltering confidence but I really believe that Mills has what it takes to be a great Corner in this league. All of this added with our staples on “D” like Fletcher Cox, Malcolm Jenkins and Jordan Hicks .

I really think our Defense is going to surprise a lot of teams this year.

All and all, with the possibilities this team has on offense, we literally may see the Eagles fly this year. Our defense is under everyone’s radar but maybe that’s exactly where we want to be. To everyone who has read my articles before you know me… I’m a homer and always will be. I’m proud of that, I’m proud of my Eagles and I’m proud to be an Eagles fan. This year is going to be something my friends. Stay tuned my loves, stay tuned. E.A.G.L.E.S Eagles!!!!!… Ashley Nicole Shafer Out…

--

--