Profiles in Justice: Gricelda “Gigi” Borja

Philadelphia DAO
The Justice Wire
Published in
3 min readAug 29, 2019

“My family and 10-year relationship are my engine, and I’m grateful to be here. It’s all because of them,” says Gricelda “Gigi” Borja, who is a Paralegal in the DAO’s Dangerous Drug Offender Unit (DDOU).

As background, DDOU investigates and prosecutes drug dealers and their organizations. The unit works in conjunction with the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) and other federal agencies. The Assistant District Attorneys (ADAs) and Paralegal assigned to this Unit are specially trained for complicated, long-term investigations.

Gigi began working full time at the District Attorney’s Office (DAO) in January of 2016, right after graduating from Temple University with a degree in Political Science and Criminal Justice. She started her college career at Lehigh Carbon Community College (LCCC) and then transferred into Temple two years later. In 2015, she was an undergraduate intern in the DAO’s Public Nuisance Task Force.

Borja was born in Peru and moved to New Rochelle, N.Y., at the age of three with her family in pursuit of the American dream.

“My mother earned her degree at one of Peru’s most prestigious universities and worked as a professor and my father ran his own small business. When they came to the U.S., they had to start from scratch. Their main goal was to start a new life for my siblings and I, and to provide all of the opportunities they weren’t fortunate enough to have, and they did that,” Borja says.

The Borja family eventually moved to Whitehall, PA, facing many challenges along the way, which taught Gigi a valuable lesson.

“From both living with my mother and father I had lots of responsibilities and grew up fast. My parents showed me that through hard work and dedication, anything is possible. I am proud of my cultural background. Witnessing my family’s perseverance throughout struggles has helped put everything in my own life into perspective, making me the individual I am today,” Borja continues.

Growing up, Borja knew she wanted to pursue a career in criminal justice. It was easy for her to assimilate the desire to help others, because of the cultural values her parents instilled in her. They believe a culture should do right by all and that people should help others in any way they can.

“With DDOU, I’m involved with all of the investigations which include performing background checks, proffers (meeting defendants), and most importantly, being the bridge between Spanish to English translations. I’m fortunate that I get to work for a unit that allows me to embrace who I am,” Borja explains. “By giving me the opportunity to bring both of my cultures along with me to work daily, it allows me to tackle any task at hand with a high level of responsibility and determination. Being bilingual helps me utilize and apply my skills into DDOU’s investigations that aim to make Philadelphia more safe. I love my job and the people I work with, and I try to bring as much positive energy to the unit as I can. One of the highlights of my time in DDOU was the Kip and Cambria investigation.”

In October of 2018, the DAO announced the arrest of more than 57 individuals for selling fentanyl, heroin, cocaine, crack cocaine, and other drugs in the Kensington section of the city. The intensive investigation was done in partnership with the DDOU and the High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA), Chester County District Attorney’s Office, Delaware County Detectives, and Pennsylvania State Police. The drug operation, which centered around Kip and Cambria Streets in the Kensington section of the city, was a narcotics hot spot because of the Alameda Drug Trafficking Organization — which was nearly decimated as a result of the investigation. Leading up to the conclusion of the investigation, between July 1, 2017, and July 1, 2018, the Philadelphia Police Department made more than 700 arrests, 100 of which resulted in felony charges, and received more than 300 hospital cases, about 75% of which were related to drug overdoses within a four-block radius of Kip and Cambria Streets.

“I love challenges, and I am someone who looks at life knowing that it is made better with small and large goals. I always envisioned myself as a lawyer, but for now I’m enjoying my job as a paralegal, especially because I’ve grown interested in the investigative work which may eventually steer me in a different direction,” Borja adds.

--

--

Philadelphia DAO
The Justice Wire

The Philadelphia District Attorney’s Office is committed to seeking fair and equal justice for 1.5 million residents, while upholding Constitutional rights.