PhD Journey: Week 14

Philip Davies
A PhD in Entrepreneurial Ecosystems
1 min readJan 24, 2023

Working Abroad

We were still off work this week, having a short break in southern Spain, but I did start picking up the threads again. There was one facilitated session (working with businesses, rather than on my research) that I needed to attend, but luckily it was online rather than zoom. It’s another example of having to adapt to someone else’s timeline rather than making my own, but the ability to do this now is way ahead of what it was when I used to do it ten or fifteen years ago.

At that point, the only real option for working remotely would be in a hotel meeting room, which was expensive and soulless, and more often than not you couldn’t do much more than email or voice calls. This couldn’t have been more different — I found a great co-working space in central Seville, booked a room for a couple of hours online, they whatsapped me details and made sure everything was okay, and I joined the zoom call with no real difference to if I’d been in the office.

I still would have preferred to be seeing more of the city, but as a compromise to keep things ticking over it really wasn’t bad at all. I expect big parts of this PhD will be written on the road!

--

--