I ran a 10k! Now, what’s a 10k for writing?

Alex UA
Philosophilly
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2017

I took a good step in my quest to create some more healthy habits this past weekend, a couple of weeks after reaching the top of the hill I’m now over (I turned 40). I ran my first race, The Philly 10k, it was an awesome experience, and for extra karma bonus points, I ran the race as a “RunRaiser” for a great nonprofit, BackOnMyFeet (they’re also a Zivtech client).

The start and finish line @ the Philly 10k @ 7th & South.

I can feel my excitement for the race starting to meld with my love for travel and exploring other cities/locales by foot, though I’m going to have to tame that, or at least tie it into work or family trips. Next up is a 1/2 Marathon, probably the Philadelphia Half Marathon in November, though I may look for a different race at an earlier date, due to the Philly 1/2’s proximity to a booked trip to Asia.

I still feel like my other habit, writing more, is progressing, but that habit has a long way to go. I feel like I need to figure out the equivalent of a 10k to aim for with writing and still leave time for my family, hustling/working, traveling, etc. The obvious answer to that is “write a short story” or something, but unlike the 10k, I’d have to both plan the race and run it, so I may need to start with something different.

The other issue I find with writing vs. running, is I write *a lot* at work each day, it’s just in the form of emails, IMs, text messages, contracts, etc. Ultimately, I’m trying to improving the amount and depth of my externally facing work writing, so maybe I should be aiming towards some sort of work-related book? Either way, before I run that 10k I really need

--

--

Alex UA
Philosophilly

Founder/CEO of Zivtech & Probo.ci. I'm a born hustler, an Open Source evangelist, a 'flat cap awesome' professional troublemaker, & a family man.