Is an unexamined life worth living?

I am the gadfly of the Athenian people…

Pelin Dilara Çolak
Philosophiser Co
4 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

If you pick up any book on the history of philosophy, you will find that it is usually divided into two distinct periods: before and after Socrates. The fact that a philosopher whose own writings have not survived to our time can represent such a pivotal moment in philosophy is fascinating. He is known by his name and his death. Nevertheless, the question remains: who was Socrates and what were his contributions to philosophy?

Socrates used to ask questions to awaken the minds of the complacent Athenians. He showed them that they didn’t truly understand the things they thought they knew and thus led them to the truth. Because he stirred people’s minds, he compared himself to a gadfly, an insect that stirs up animals.

While the philosophers before him and his contemporaries tried to understand the universe or existence with the sensitivity of a spectator, Socrates shifted the focus of philosophical inquiry to man himself. The phrase “Gnothi seauton”, which means “Know thyself” written at the entrance of the Delphi temple, is the main issue that Socrates pursued. Socrates changed the direction of philosophy.

The philosophers known as Sophists, who argued that knowledge is relative, interpreted the concept of arete as skill, craftsmanship or mastery in governance. For Socrates, however, arete meant mastery of living. A person must first sculpt themselves into masters of living so that they can then help others demonstrate mastery in their lives.

Socrates often mentioned that he heard an inner voice telling him what to do and referred to this divine voice as his daimon. (It’s interesting to note the transformation of this concept into “Demon,” or devil in the Middle Ages). In ancient Greek, daimon means a spirit or fate. Fate, in this context, is about one’s allotted share or measure. It reminds a person of their share or measure and guides them to find a balance. This guiding voice that leads a person to the measure is provided by Hybris. A person who finds this measure becomes Harmonia. According to Socrates, the daimon is an inner voice within us all that advises us on “what to do” or “not to do”.

The voice of God

In this regard, Socrates was a deeply religious individual and a moral philosopher who claimed to hear the voice of God within himself, carrying the divine message. One of the interesting ironies of history is the execution of a moral philosopher due to immorality. Indeed, in 399 BC, Socrates was sentenced to death by the Athenian democracy, which he never favored, on charges of corrupting the youth of Athens, undermining morality, and introducing new gods in place of the city’s traditional ones. It is at this point that his death sets him apart from others, entering into the realm of great deaths rather than being just another one. (The value of this is debatable.) Ultimately, he both refused escape offers and did not even seek clemency to reduce his punishment.

Because, in his view, every person was primarily accountable for their own actions. After expressing these beliefs, if Socrates had fled prison or implored the judges for mercy, he would have failed the test of integrity that he felt compelled to uphold. This is why Socrates opted not to escape or seek assistance or pardon.

He articulated, “I have spent my entire life in Athens. If I had desired to depart from this city, I could have done so. There was no barrier preventing me from leaving Athens, yet I chose not to. Throughout my seventy years of life, I have sought refuge in the protection of Athenian laws. I have derived benefit from the protection afforded by these laws. By acting in this manner, I have voluntarily undertaken an obligation. This obligation is to abide by the laws to which I have dedicated my entire life. Now, if I do not comply with the decision that these laws will rightfully make regarding me, I will have broken a promise that I made to myself.”

Whenever I mention this death, I immediately remember Bertrand Russell’s words: “I would never die for my beliefs because I might be wrong.” I’m not sure if one should die for their thoughts, or if there are thoughts worth dying for… But at least two clear lessons seem to be gleaned from Socrates: that a life without questioning the meaning is worthless, and that above all, one must be honest with oneself.

--

--