Talking to Myself

Advices for my teenage self

--

Before starting, if at some point, while reading this, you feel like I hate my life, ignore it, i’m probably just being dramatic.

I know, i’m only 26 years old, i’ve hardly made any decisions that will forever alter my life, some things might take longer, and i’ll probably have to choose different paths, but still, is not too late for anything, or so I hear.

Though it is impossible to get inside a DeLorean and go back to 1955, well, not that long since I wasn’t even born back then, I often fantasize about what it would be like to talk to my 18 year old self and beat some sense into that dumbass.

I mean, is not like I have tons of regrets or anything, i’m quite happy with my life and all that i’ve done so far, but I can’t help but feel that I have wasted a lot of precious time with worthless stuff around the end of high school and the first years of college.

The only healthy thing to do is to let go and live in the now, but maybe putting these frustrations into words in form of a letter to my younger self may help someone else, and maybe when I get back to this post in a few years I’ll feel differently about that time and, hopefully, be on the right track.

“Dude, Listen up!

Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

I have a good memory, so I know you remember this, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off made quite an impression when you first saw it(don’t worry, it’s still awesome to this day). But maybe the lesson, and there was one, didn’t stick.

Life does moves pretty fast, so much that more often then not, you can’t keep up with it. Things that matter to you now will probably be irrelevant and fade away in a couple of months and you won’t realize it, or even miss it.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing, mostly those changes will be for the better. Mostly.

To this day, I don’t quite feel like an adult, but you’re at a point when you’ll have to make a couple of adult decisions. Nothing is written in stone, but at this point in your life, i’m sure that sometimes it feels like it is. Deciding what will be your career at 18 is hard, so take it seriously, even if at some point you regret it. There’s always an out.

Whatever you choose, make sure is something you are passionate about. Money is super important, but it’s a consequence. It won’t come easy, you will have to work really hard for it, so if you choose something you love to do, you won’t feel it as much.

College is not high school, remember that. Whatever you learn there is important and will affect your life in the future, not like biology, physics or math, that shit you will delete of your brain the second you get the diploma.

Make everything count, take chances, don’t miss the opportunity to improve yourself. You’ll have tons of projects to work on, and you will never know if at some point you can make money of those things, so just do it.

Don’t be so closed in your own universe, college is the best time to take chances, study abroad, take unusual classes, get a few hobbies(Photography is pretty awesome). Don’t be afraid of getting out and experience things.

Take time to get to know people. Your classmates, older classmates, freshmen, teachers, in the future you’ll be peers, colleagues, partners, bosses, employees, who knows.

Have fun, but remember that life is not a party. Make the most of it, and not only the fun part, but also studying, taking summer jobs, working on personal projects. You’ll have all the tools to do whatever you want, so DO IT!

Always remember that the future is right around the corner, life goes by pretty fast, so make the most of it, all of it.

You are a good kid, you’ll be alright.

See you in a few years!”

--

--

Rodrigo Martins
General Writing: Idea, Thinking, Opinion

Product Designer, Bookworm, Awesome Photographer(not), Brazilian and a great dude!