When all else fails…

Sky Lacea
General Writing: Idea, Thinking, Opinion

--

We all know darn well that Life is not fair. Life is not always a happy song. Life has random happiness. Life has struggles. Life has issues. But, as always, beautiful.

Even the bible says so. On Ecclesiastes 9:11 , “I also saw other things in this life that were not fair. The fastest runner does not always win the race; the strongest soldier does not always win the battle; wise people don’t always get the food; smart people don’t always get the wealth; educated people don’t always get the praise they deserve. When the time comes, bad things can happen to anyone!”

Indeed, it has its own story to tell.

I am somehow, thankful, that most of the time. I don’t exactly have everything. My parents cannot provide everything I want and dream of having. I am not too pretty to get elected as the class’ Muse, a gifted child every parent want for their children. And the perfect little friend people are looking for.

When I was younger, I wasn't able to experience trying different toys a child could have. I and my brothers would enjoy what our parents gave us and we would sometimes create our own toys to please our urges to play with things. Growing up, I was able to feel bullied and at the same time bullying others. I just had a recent coffee drinking with my old friend. As we look back on our grade school days, we couldn't help but laugh because things were so simple back then : (1) obey your parents (2) gather as many medals/rewards/recognition as many as you can at school (3) eat and sleep on time (4) play as hard as you can (5) enjoy the day as it happens.

And oh yes, my younger life was as exciting as opening presents on your birthday. I found joy, I experienced being silly, my ultimate shyness around handsome boys made me a little uncomfortable. I laughed, I cried, hurt then happy again. Some people at my age paid much attention to that Love thing — but I was too busy blending with the rest of the crowd, being visible in the pack, earn as many friends as possible, and enjoying much attention.

But I realized everything is a bit different when you get older (smiles). I’d say, things have been to extremes. We have our different life stories but I think we are feeling the same level of pain, disappointments, regrets, and all those negativity. I believe we are created to be plain and simple, but somehow, people tend to complicate things. “I know I have a heart because I feel it breaking”, I would once say. When problems and uncertainties tend to pile up, people opt to pray, seek help and comfort, some would do anything to let it pass. Pain; you just have to ride it out, hoping it goes away on its own, believing the wound heals. There are no solutions, no easy answers, you just have to take a deep breath and wait for it to subside. Pain can be managed but sometimes the pain gets you to places or a state of feeling where you least expect it; hits way below the belt and doesn’t let you up. Pain, you just have to fight it though, because the truth is you can’t outrun it and Life has a lot more for you.

People, yes, people hurt people; there’s no denying. But in a way, people can make you happy too. Each of us has hurt other people intentionally or unintentionally. Humans interact with humans. Same flesh, same skin but different souls. Life is a bit funny sometimes; some pain is made by people around us but at the same time, they are also the reason who can make us happy. As I hear the raindrops on my rooftop; feeling the cold wind kissing my skin; I realized that Life has to go on. Life may be tough, it designed like that. We may be experiencing some uncomfortable episodes, all we need is to take a moment; breathe deep and sort things out. But when all else fails…. PRAY!

Originally published at sky-san.blogspot.com on July 25, 2012.

--

--