Writing in the age of linking

Ketaki
General Writing: Idea, Thinking, Opinion
1 min readSep 15, 2015

As a kid, I used to play the dictionary game, when you look up a word in the dictionary, you jump to a different word and end up learning multiple words. It was the google of that time. Even when I used to read books, I used to underline or write down the words I wanted to look up.

Now, it’s the age of linking, I can jump to look up the meaning of the word and come back, which is fantastic. The other part is that the age of linking now links to references, articles, tweets of others. When you jump to that, you lose the context of what you were reading. That introduces the cost of context switching, which is pretty high. The whole reading experience is now disrupted by links. So, while writing anything online, is it better to just not include links and give the user a better reading experience?

--

--