You can do anything

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor
Published in
2 min readAug 25, 2014

--

I used to be a shy, chubby kid with glasses. Elementary school was a playground for bullies.

Attempting to skip school became common practice. I even tried the old thermometer on the light bulb trick from E.T. (it doesn’t work).

I had OCD, compounded by depression. My main obsession was germs. I would wash my hands until they would crack and bleed. Multiple doctors, studies, different medications, and therapy after therapy sessions couldn’t cure me.

I felt hopeless. If none of these doctors or medicines could fix me, was I ever going to be normal?

I fought. Deep down I believed that things would get better. They had to. I distracted myself with films; watching, learning and making them. I made friends. I joined marching band. I became somebody.

My OCD and depression subsided without the use of any medication.

Today, I live 2,800 miles from my hometown. I work for one of the most respected companies in the world. I started two businesses in college. Three years ago I became a triathlete. I’m in the best shape of my life. Most importantly, I am surrounded by people who love and support me.

Some hurdles are tough to swallow. But don’t forget: in the end they make us stronger.

I’ve come a long way. But there’s a lot more to go.

You can do anything.

Anything.

Believe it.

I used to be a shy, chubby kid with glasses.

--

--

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

Employee experience at Edelman. Organizational psychologist. Mindfulness teacher. Student of life. Human being.