You’ll Never Be Perfect. Now’s The Time.

Adam Faire
Philosophy Propaganda
2 min readMay 5, 2017
Unsplash: Thomas Litangen

If you are not embarrassed by the first version of your product, you’ve launched too late. — Reid Hoffman

I used to be a perfectionist, but nobody knew.

Nobody knew because they never saw the final product. When they did, it reeked of self-doubt and that waters down your art.

As a music producer, I have hundreds of tracks I never finished, tons that I never released, albums I never completed, all because I wanted to create the perfect piece of art.

What’s the point of spending so much time working on anything, trying to make it perfect, when all you’re doing is delaying the introduction of something marvelous.

80% of your project will be 20% of your efforts

Whenever I work on music 20% of the time is spent on putting together the entire foundation of the track. By then, I would have all the components required in the appropriate places for it to be a full song.

The rest of the time is spent on effects, mixdown, little transitions, this, that, etc, etc.

And it is here where we spend an eternity.

Of course, don’t believe in dichotomies. You want to spend enough time on your project where it is good.

Perfection can’t be your only North Star. It is way too subjective to rely on. Your definition of perfection might be way too much for someone else. Give yourself a break and just release your shit. Pour your heart out creatively.

At some point you will have a hard time finding inspiration because you’re not getting the proper feedback.

If you’re not putting your craft out there, nobody is listening to your music, nobody is reading your books, nobody is listening to your podcast, nobody is subscribing to your newsletter.

Hey, I hope you liked the post. Check out thephpr.com for more thoughts like this.

If you’d like to read my personal blog please visit AdamFaire.com

Cheers 🔥

--

--