An ordinary account of an ordinary day in an ordinary life

Things to do on an unremarkable day

Joshua Byrd
phocks
3 min readDec 15, 2018

--

I read the news today, oh boy! It was yesterday actually. Sorry I didn’t write. I’m still deciding if this will be an every day thing. Not everything has to remarkable I suppose. Not every post has to be poetry.

Here’s my day anyway.

I get up, have a cup of tea. I let my wife Amy and baby Vada sleep while getting ready for work. It’s a Friday. I find it slightly strange to have fallen into the rhythm of this 5 day working week thing. Things are quiet in the office. There is a perceivable calm after the storm of yesterday’s story. We got the stats back. They were good. Just shy of a million minutes of engagement across all platforms.

Then it’s standup time and we gather around the screen video portal to the Sydney office to tell everyone what we hope to achieve that day. We’re all mostly kicking on with other projects.

It’s coffee time and a few of us pop downstairs. This is the cheap coffee. A few others walk over to expensive coffee. I usually stick to the cheap coffee complete with ABC discount. I get my card stamped. Next soy latte is free!

Work, work, work, surprise meeting about augmented reality, then it’s lunch time. There is a sausage sizzle organised upstairs. Vegetarian options available apparently. I get a vegan delight Subway anyway just in case. Last time they buttered every single piece of bread so I couldn’t have bread and made do with a couple of veg sausages on a plate withtomato sauce. This time I am pleasantly surprised. No butter! Do dairy cruelty! I eat my sub and have a veggie sausage on bread. We chat out on the balcony. I have a mid-strength beer. Everyone seems to be in high spirits. The holiday season is officially upon us.

There is a big meeting about the upcoming federal election in the other room. It finally comes to an end and people start spilling back into the news room. A few decide to break free early and skip across to the pub for a beer. We decide to get caught up in all the Christmas cheer. A few more beers and chats, then I catch the bus back home to Amy and baby Vada.

Exhausted from the day, we decide to treat ourselves and get Indian food delivered. We watch the next episode of The Office. We cuddle Vady and try to get her to sleep. It doesn’t work. We carry her around and give her another feed until she starts getting sleepy. Eventually she settles in her crib.

We watch the season 2 finale of The Mighty Boosh. It’s the one where they get stuck on a desert island and they make little coconut buddies. Pretty funny.

Finally it’s bed time and I read a few more pages of Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places before drifting off into a dreamless sleep.

And that’s that, a perfectly unextraordinary day in the life. But pretty perfect nonetheless.

Saturday awaits. The weekend is here. I wonder what will happen.

--

--