Christmas tidings and turnings

Baby’s first holiday season and a scientific theory of Astrology

Joshua Byrd
phocks
Published in
2 min readDec 27, 2018

--

by Joshua Byrd

When I was younger I didn’t believe in Astrology. Not at all. Not one bit. Not an iota. I thought the whole thing was an absolute load of rubbish. I believed only in the true word of science and logic. Looking back now, perhaps I was a bit too steadfast in my blind belief. Just a bit.

Once upon I time I had this little idea. What if the month and season of a baby’s birth actually did have an effect upon their personality as they grew up? The idea isn’t so far fetched, now that I think about it.

It goes like this. Every event in a a child’s life affects them in some way, right? Big events more than small events. The main tenet of my theory was that the time between a baby’s birth and their very first Christmas (or other major annual celebration) has an influence upon their personality, in ways we do not yet understand.

Of course, I have had no real way of testing this theory as yet, but it is fun to think about sometimes.

So, in a way, I guess I do believe in something similar to Astrology nowadays. I even believe that the motion of the planets and the moon and the sun have an effect upon personality. The effect is ever so slight for the planets, and more pronounced for the sun and the moon. Forces of gravity act upon the Earth and indeed they stretch out, expanding their influence upon the entire universe at large.

(I recommend reading The Ascent of Gravity by Marcus Chown for a great history of gravitational theory.)

My daughter, baby Vada was born when the moon was hanging full and bright in the sky, on the 26th of August 2018. Her Nanny Val (my wife’s mother) saw this full moon shining out of the plane window as she flew down from up north to see Vada on the day of her birth. She said it was a sign, a good omen. I am now inclined to believe her.

There have now been four of these full moons since that happy time when we received our little miracle. And a few days ago it was Christmas day. Baby Vada’s first Christmas. Every day I see changes in her. She is growing up so fast, learning all about the world around her.

The sun shines down on her every day. The seasons are slowly changing. The world is turning. And next Christmas is now another year away.

I look at her and wonder how all these events in Vada’s life are influencing and shaping her future personality. I wonder at the young lady she will become.

I guess all we can do is wait and see.

--

--