Patterns of sleep and waking

I once was lost (asleep) but now I am found (awake)

Joshua Byrd
phocks
2 min readDec 12, 2018

--

All life now revolves around the sleeping patterns of a fifteen-week-old child. She was asleep. Now she is awake. But soon enough she will be falling, falling, falling back into her bed, or bouncy chair, as it were. As we speak.

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything. Mediums come and go. Inspiration too. I have found myself a father. What I mean by that is that I have become a father to a little baby girl. Her name is Vada. She is an angel.

Maybe I was asleep. For many years. Has this where I’ve been all this time? Let me think back. It certainly seems like a dream to me sometimes. Surreal. Sublime.

Where was I?

I was overseas. That’s right. A year abroad some might say. My time there is a story of its own entirely. For another time perhaps. In my dream though, of latter-days. In my dream I returned home. I came back to my wide-eyed island-continent to start anew. I met a girl. I got a job. I settled down. I went vegan (three years ago to the day). The things I thought I’d maybe never do, in the back of my mind it seems I somehow always knew. You never forget.

Amy and I were married in the spring of ’17. In November we honeymooned in Fiji, swimming with the fishes. Baby Vada came Earthside on the the 26th of August. There’s some math to do in that I think. These days there’s a bit of juggling of things old and new. Work and sleep. We wake in dreams.

Having a child, the whole world gets turned on its head. Yet at the same time it rolls on as it has done a billion times before. We get by.

She is asleep again. But now my eyes are widening with midnight’s fast approach. I wanted a place to pour out some thoughts again. And perhaps this is as good as it gets.

Now it seems I’m living the dream. I’ll try my best to keep it up.

--

--