This is what happens when a tweet about dairy farming goes viral and gets over 6.35 million views on Twitter

Hint: you get a few notifications

Joshua Byrd
phocks
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2019

--

If you’ve ever spent any time on the Internet, you’ll know that it is extremely difficult to get someone to change. Erin Janus though is magical. Her video DAIRY IS SCARY! The industry explained in 5 minutes will change you. It will educate you. It will outrage you. It will disgust you. It will bring you to tears.

At least, this is the pattern I’ve seen emerge in the constant stream of notifications on the my phone, 24/7 over the past week.

(Oh yeah, and in some cases it will also cause you to make hilarious and original jokes about how you don’t care about cows and will keep drinking milk regardless and then post reaction GIFs of buff shirtless dudes chugging multiple cartons of milk, for some reason.)

But before we go any further here’s the tweet, if you haven’t seen it already.

In just a week, the embedded video has racked up over 2.4 million views. The tweet itself has received over 6.3 million unique impressions.

The response has been almost overwhelming.

Every time I open my phone now I see people waking up.

I see people learning about the horrors inherent in the dairy industry.

I see people not wanting to consume dairy products ever again.

I see people wanting to go vegan for the animals.

I see people thanking God that they are lactose intolerant.

I see people praising the benefits of plant-based milks.

It almost gives me hope for humanity and for the future of this planet.

But this is the Internet we are talking about and with this kind of traffic there is of course bound to be some push-back.

Though even with their emphatic cries of “NOTHING IN THIS VIDEO IS TRUE, IDIOTS” or “IMA STILL EAT DAIRY ANYWAY SO F#&K U” they nevertheless incidentally help to spread the message of truth and justice far and wide with every post they share.

So thanks a million dudes. Here’s a meme.

Regardless, any way you look at it, the response has been overwhelmingly positive. I have hardly been able to look away.

Did you know that if you search Twitter for the URL of a tweet it will show you all the people who have “quoted” it and added their own little comments?

There are now thousands of these reactions from all over the world. Just click the link and you can browse the responses literally for hours.

Below are just a few highlights from my notifications.

May they light up my phone forevermore.

Thanks for reading.

Please consider sharing this article with your network. 🌱

--

--