The Downtown Gilbert water tower (Photo credit: Lauren Thompson)

When home has changed: The story of Downtown Gilbert

Lauren Thompson
Phoenix Farewell Tour
4 min readApr 29, 2016

--

Of all 16 years I spent in the Phoenix area, I called Gilbert home for about 12. I went to every year of school in the city’s public and charter schools. I drove to the other side of town to go to dinner or breakfast with my family on special occasions, where we walked right up to the counter and ordered our food.

In my head, Gilbert is still the little time town outside Mesa that smells like cow manure at night.

The reality today of Gilbert today does not match the Gilbert I see in my head.

On a relaxed Wednesday while working on my Phoenix Farewell project, I decided to take a stop in my old stomping grounds of Downtown Gilbert.

A new parking garage in the Downtown Gilbert area. (Photo credit: Lauren Thompson)

I parked on the second level of a parking garage that did not exist the last time I came down here. Street level parking was not available, and neither was anything on the first level. On a Wednesday night.

Which freaked me out a little.

Since I last went to Downtown Gilbert on a regular basis, it seems like things are popping up on every corner. An Arizona breakfast hotspot and an Arizona pizza restaurant have both opened Downtown Gilbert locations.

And the community is progressing even further; a Dierks Bentley’s Whisky Row chain is currently under construction in the area as well.

The Gilbert location of Dierks Bentley’s Whisky Row is slated to open this October, according to the website (Photo credit: Lauren Thompson)

If someone had told me when I was 16 that there would one day be a country bar of any kind in Gilbert, I would have laughed. (Even if it does end up having more of a restaurant vibe than Phoenix’s other Whisky Row locations, as some sources have told azcentral it will).

Actually, if we’re being honest, I’m still a little aghast. I thought the tattoo parlor was a raunchy step for my little heritage district. (Raunchy as in “raunchy for Gilbert,” at least).

New development aside, I was still just blown away by the sheer number of people out and about. Suddenly what was once a special place for Sunday brunch with the family was alive with people. On a Wednesday night.

I’d be lying if I said the idea of my once small town turning into a local hotspot wasn’t a little weird for me. After all, I didn’t see Gilbert as a destination — I saw it as home.

I had to make sure Twitter was aware of my mental struggle to accept Gilbert as a hotspot.

To me, Downtown Gilbert hasn’t been a foodie hotspot. It was simply my favorite special place.

It was where I played in the water fountains under the water tower, even long after I was too old to do so.

It’s where my dad and I played with the town’s big granite ball. We always tried to make it stop under the water flow. It sometimes worked, but we mostly just ended up getting really wet.

For old time’s sake, I walked over and played with the granite ball (yes, Dad, I did try to stop it. It’s hard to do by yourself).

I looked for a different perspective on the water tower.

The Gilbert water tower from below. (Photo credit: Lauren Thompson)

I walked a little further down the block, where the buildings put the “old” in “Old Town Gilbert.” This part of town was much more like I remembered.

Buildings in Gilbert’s Heritage District. (Photo credit: Lauren Thompson)

The cars in this area kept to the 15mph speed limit. The buildings maintained their Western inspired charm. Besides me, the only other people in this Southern part of the Heritage District were another photographer taking portraits of a woman.

Just a few short steps from the new establishments and construction, Gilbert was still Gilbert. It was — is — the same town I call “home.”

Yes, the idea of Downtown Gilbert as a local hotspot on a Wednesday night is still sort of weird. It’s strange to think that so many people could be seeking out this place in order to spend time there, when I myself am so ready to leave it behind.

But when I see the youth of Gilbert playing under the water tower, or trying to stop the ball, it fills me with joy.

I’m glad to know that the Gilbert I love is still around. And now, more people will get to experience its treasures as it becomes a better known Phoenix destination.

Even after I leave, Gilbert will still be here whenever I come home.

--

--