Old Wood

Phone Notes Vol. 1 | A memorable photo

Ryan O’Neal Jr
Phone Notes

--

Film photography reminds us to be detailed, attentive, and patient.

Photo by Ryan O’Neal Jr, All Rights Reserved, 2023

It is rare I find myself looking back at the scans of the rolls of film I made and thinking, “this photo might be perfect.”

Recently, I got the opportunity to make a few frames on my Minolta X-700 shooting black and white Kodak Professional T-Max 400 film at a wedding. The two siblings pictured here live on two different continents and rarely see each other in person.

When I asked them if I could make a photo or two of them, I didn’t think I’d capture a moment like this:

somewhere between candid and portrait.

There was a genuine smile on their faces, but also a quiet joy swelled around them. I saw the beauty and strength of their familial years.

They shared stories with me about their childhood talking about their parents and moments you wouldn’t think they’d remember from their earliest days.

Photo by Ryan O’Neal Jr, All Rights Reserved, 2023

There is truly no time, just us and enough of what is present. The present brings memories of the past and begins to chart the stars for the future.

--

--