How Film Photography is Making Me A Better Photographer:

Chris Lawrence
Photo Dojo
Published in
4 min readOct 8, 2018

--

Shooting with film is still a process that I am learning as I grow stronger as a photographer; it’s a process that is different from shooting with my tiny but ever-so-powerful Canon T3i. What film photography is teaching me is to trust myself in a completely different way than digital photography ever allowed me to — I barely even scratched the surface of trust with my digital work.​​​​​​​

Trusting my eye:

Truth is, I’ve got the eye that it takes to catch something that others may see as ordinary and turn it into something beautiful. I’ve done it before, and I do it time after time. Building a strong relationship of trust with your eye and how it contributes to your creative process is something that I didn’t understand when it came to my digital work because I could always review my work and make the adjustments that were needed. Working with 35mm film doesn’t grant that ability though, I’m forced to wait until I develop the roll to see the final result. That patience is sometimes killer, because sometimes I develop the next day and sometimes I wait months and can’t even remember what’s on each roll. Film brought out my trust in my eye and creative mind.

Trusting my skills:

--

--

Chris Lawrence
Photo Dojo

Copywriter | Content Strategist | Houseplant Collector