THE FILM CAMERA THAT ONLY WORKED WHEN SMACKED

Sarah Ahmed
VISUAL JOURNAL
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2015

A couple of days ago, I decided to take up film photography again because of all of these super cool humans who you should 100% check out: hayat, meshari, cheb moha, jalal, candy & johara.

I woke up thinking, ‘hey, why not. JUST DO IT!’.

After spending a whole day with my canon ae-1 I remembered why I abruptly stopped film photography. The shutter had to be released in an odd way that invloved hitting it with my right index finger stronger than usual but steady enough for the photos to not appear blurry? Meshari advised me to smack it around if the shutter gets stuck, and when I did, it worked.

The six photos below are the only ones I liked and one of them wasn’t even taken by me.

LESSONS LEARNED:

  • It’s ok to smack a vintage camera, don’t be too careful with them.
  • I finally understand taking photos in dim settings.
in Art House Cafe, Abu Dhabi
in Khalifa Park, Abu Dhabi
left: in Dubai // right: in the Blue Souq, Sharjah

Since everything I ever do is for the sake of experimentation, here are the rest that I don’t approve of at all because they’re too blurry or the exposure was too high or low; I don’t even know anymore.

in Khalifa park, Abu Dhabi
in the Blue Souq, Sharjah
in the Sheikh Zayed Mosque, Abu Dhabi

I’ll end this with the words I live by;

Fake it till you’re ok with it. — Sarah Ahmed

--

--

Sarah Ahmed
VISUAL JOURNAL

24, middle eastern INTJ. founder & curator of @jaffatelaqlam