Shooting Nature with a Minimalist Camera Setup

Paulo Makalinao
Photo Paradox
Published in
5 min readDec 9, 2019

Shooting nature seems to usually include having the biggest possible set up. The 1D-X II and a large 400mm f/2.8 lens or some other gigantic telephoto are the dreams of many nature photographers and guarantees the best quality. But at what cost besides the thousands in gear? One has to lug all that equipment around all day, and surely that could be some serious strain on the body, especially the back. And does better gear really make the better photographer? What if there was another way to shoot nature taken from the book of the street photographer? What if we introduced a minimalist set up to the world of nature photography? Are the restrictions worth it?

Captured with an EOS RP and 50mm f/1.8

If one reads about street photography, there seems to be a prevalent trend in the setup. A single body and more often than not a single prime lens whose small size is not only easier to carry but less frightening to street subjects. The original street photographer, Henry Cartier-Bresson, captured his most famous photographs with a Leica and a 50mm. Today, street photographers, even with the ability to have zooms, seem to enjoy still using prime focal lengths at 35mm, 28mm, or 24mm. And there are plenty of great inexpensive and wide prime lenses to choose from. The Canon 35mm f/2 IS is a great choice and sits at around 500 dollars, and even better, the Canon 40mm f/2.8 goes for about 150 dollars. Now with the rise of mirrorless cameras like the Sony A7, Nikon Z6/7, or Canon EOS R/RP, the setup can fit in the palm of a hand. But is this valid gear for shooting nature?

Captured with the EOS RP and 50mm f/1.8

Well, yes and no. There is a place for that 1D-X and 400mm or 5D IV with a 100–400mm, especially when shooting wildlife. If I had client work, I’d surely rent a similar setup. The pros use this setup for a reason. When money is on the line, there’s nothing like the best gear on the market. It’s more versatile, more reliable, and much quicker for firing off continuous frames. But indeed, it is overkill for shooting flowers or nearby plants or just shooting for fun. By pairing a mirrorless camera and a small prime lens, one could still have all the advantages of full-frame with sharp glass. And to top it all off, an incredibly light set up too. Not to mention on the cheaper side, although that’s relative. An EOS RP and the 50mm f/1.8 is sub-1500 together. This is a setup I′ve fancied when shooting gardens and forest flora where I have the freedom of mobility, but sometimes I really make my setup minimalist by using the 5D Classic (even though it’s a DSLR), which no doubt holds its own and costs around 500 dollars with the lens. This is a setup I’ve fancied when shooting gardens and forest flora where I have the freedom of mobility. The 5D Classic holds its own and is a steal that gives a film-like feel that not many other digital cameras can reproduce. And now that I only have a single camera and lens, I don’t really need a big backpack and can just stash a few extra batteries into my pocket for when I need it.

Captured with a 5D Classic and 50mm f/1.8

It’s all a godsend, and the single-camera, single small prime setup has been perfect for shooting nearby places for me, such as the Stanford Arizona Cactus Garden or the flower-filled area of San Bruno Mountain south of San Francisco. Like everyone who argues for small primes says, these lenses really make me think on shoots. I zoom with my feet, which keeps me active, and instead of changing focal lengths to differ my composition, I’m forced to think of different angles to spice up my photographs. When I’m restricted to a certain setup, I feel as if my creativity is at its max, and my results are for more based on my skills as a photographer rather than my gear. After all, more expensive and complicated gear doesn’t necessarily make me a better photographer. And plus, the simplicity of the setup means I spend less time thinking about gear and more time thinking about my photos. Even with a much less expensive setup void of L lenses and bulky DSLRs, I find that my photos are just as good (and sometimes even better).

Captured with the 5D Classic and 50mm f/1.8

I think in the end, challenging myself by restriction with just one body and a tiny prime lens has made me a better photographer. It makes me unafraid to experiment and get a shot that might not turn outright. And when lugging around my camera is far less of an issue, I feel more likely to just grab it and go in the middle of the day to find some more flowers and bees and trees. A small setup for nature photography has simply inspired me to shoot more and go on more hikes knowing that my back is no going to hate me afterward. My heavy bodies and L lenses will always have their place, and I am still going to need them at some point, but it’s nice to kick back with a small package for a change.

--

--

Paulo Makalinao
Photo Paradox

An avid portrait photographer and media content creator. Currently attending Stanford University. Originally from Matawan, NJ.