March 12, 2020

Lily Hsu
Photo Stories A
Published in
4 min readMar 18, 2020

Three days ago, March 12, 2020, is the most unforgettable day in my life. What made that day special? Actually, it was my 23rd birthday.

I would like to share how much love and happiness I received on that day.

At the midnight of March 12, 2020, I received lots of blessings from my friends on phone. Some of them posted pictures on social medias, some of them left messages to me, and some of them even made a video for me. I was so touched after reading each word they wrote…

In the morning, I noticed a lovely pink box with a sweet card on my desk. After I tore off the packing of the box, I found some mini donuts just inside which I really wanted to buy before. At that moment, I realized that the gift was from my lovely roommate, Angela, which successfully made my day.

There was a presentation competition on that day so actually I didn’t expect my friends in ITI would celebrate the birthday for me. They had been so much busy in the last 2 months that they should take a rest after that day. However, it wasn’t that case. There was something out of blue.

At night, I went out for dinner with them for nominally celebrating the great work of their presentation competitions. After the meal, Macie said to me: “Sorry, Lily. We are too busy to celebrate your birthday as others’ birthdays before.” I replied immediately with a big smile, “That’s fine, I totally understand.” But in fact, I was a little bit disappointed and I even had an idea of buying a cake for myself. Fortunately, I changed my mind because I was already full.

After coming back to dorm, at the time when I was going to remove my make-up, I heard Jennifer called me in a hurry. I walked out of my room and I saw someone turning off the light. Here comes a surprise. “Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you….” a crowd of people appeared all of a sudden with two lovely chocolate cakes.

I cried.

I cried instantly and loudly. I was so touched by those works they had done for me. They did not only prepare cakes, but also a valuable gift, which made me cry again. I had a long cry when I found what exactly it was.

“A greeting card album?” I uttered a cry.

I’m so lucky to have them as my friends. Without these sweet people, my life in ITI would not be that colorful. I really appreciate all the things that they’ve done for me.

Because of my birthday, I realized how lucky am I to get so much concerns and cares from others. In addition to my parents, there are still plenty of people who care about me.

I should keep being myself and taking care of others as same as how they treat me. It is important to spread warmth and show kindness to those people around us. Otherwise, if one day there is no opportunity to do that, we will definitely regret.

--

--

Lily Hsu
Photo Stories A

hi~ I’m from German program of ITI 108C. Nice to meet you! I love singing, making new friends, and sharing my life to others.