My First Marathon

Lulu
Photo Stories A
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2020

This is my first marathon.

I had never thought I would enjoy running.

Ever since I was little, running was always something I will do during PE class, not in my spare time. But I enjoy doing other sports, for example: playing badminton, volleyball, and swimming. I don’t think running is enjoyable because it is exhausting. However, this time, I had stepped out my comfort zone and explored my passion for running.

I didn’t know what I was thinking, but I just said “yes” when my roommate asked if I wanted to join the Sun Moon Lake Marathon. After a few days, it turned out that more than 20 people in class C would be joining the marathon. We started to practice running at Chiao Tung University whenever we had free time. The more we practiced, the more I found running is actually quite interesting. Of course, there were times that I really wanted to give up and just walk away, but this is the process that every runner has to overcome.

We woke up at 4 in the morning that day. We were excited, anxious and also full of uncertainty. “Could I finish the run?”. “Will I make it through?”. Those kinds of questions just popped up in my head, but the moment we started the marathon, all the worries were gone. I had no thoughts in my head, all I knew were keep moving forward and remember to breathe constantly.

After 90 minutes, I finally finished 12 km and reached the finish line. I felt happy, energetic, positive and never felt this way before. Perhaps, this is what life is. No matter how difficult the task is, as long as you stay positive, give it your best shot, and keep going on until the end, you will reach your goal.

--

--