The Opposite Life

Yvonne Chang
Photo Stories A
Published in
1 min readFeb 23, 2020

The first time I went to the Philippine was to study English and experience different cultures. When I arrived at the school, the most special thing I realized was that most of the students were using Iphones. I could see they had wealthy families through their behaviors. The life there was surrounded by the two different lifestyles. Inside the school, was the middle-class students talking about which restaurant they should visit, and outside the building was an opposite world. People were worried about food, money, and where to live.

This picture was when I stood on the stairs and watched the ocean. I heard students chatting, then I looked down and saw the slums were just next to the beach. The wealthy and poor life was just in front of me. At that time I felt this is real life, the real world. Although we show our mercy, their lifes won’t change. Every time I see this picture, I still remember the feeling at that moment.

--

--