A glimpse into a fairytale

Sylvia Yang
Photo Stories B
Published in
4 min readMar 11, 2020
The Alps from the peak of Zugspitze

-2°C, with strong and cold wind froze every part of me. Zugspitze, the highest mountain in Germany, is located in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the border of Germany and Austria.

The platform for gear trains with unmelted snow

Waking up early at 6:30 a.m. in Munich, I took Flixbus to Garmisch-Partenkirchen and bought an all-day ticket which cost me €48. The price was quite expensive for me in the beginning, but after I arrived at the peak, I realized the magnificent landscape was priceless.

In winter, tourists have to take the gear train and take the cable car to the top of Zugspitze.

When taking the cable car, people inside became more and more excited as the altitude increased. Mountains, forests and the frozen Eibsee lake reflected in my eyes. How fantastic nature is!

View from the cable car

On the top of Zugspitze, there’s a cross landmark. You can reach it by mountain climbing or take a photo from the observatory as I did.

In summertime, you can see many mountaineers take pictures with the landmark; In wintertime, people are prohibited to go mountain climbing there.

The cold wind froze me from head to toe. Fortunately, the weather was very nice, the sky was clear and visibility was high.

The Southern Alps in Austria

As the first high orographic obstacle to these Westerlies in the Alps, the Zugspitze is particularly exposed to the weather. It is the north barrier of the Alps, against which moist air masses pile up and release heavy precipitation. That causes the unpredictability of the weather of Zugspitze, it was sunny at the last second, and clouds piled up immediately.

The snow was really flat and sturdy, I slipped on it several times.
More people came here for skiing or snowboarding than sightseeing.

A few steps from the observatory, people with skiing equipment were lining up for hot meals and drinks. Everyone equipped sunglasses except for me. Next time I will remember to bring a pair with me. I was just fresh to snow then.

The frozen lake Eibsee

Down to lake Eibsee, the frozen surface was too slippery which caused me to fall countless times. A foreigner couldn’t stand it and came to help me leave the lake.

A DieBahn train passed by

Back to the ground, it was about 5 p.m. The sky is still bright, so I decided to wander in the town.

Garmisch-Partenkirchen is a peaceful and small town, only a little people walked by streets.

I stood on a street for a while, looked around and wished to keep everything in mind. I’ve never seen a town like Garmisch-Partenkirchen, surrounded by mountains with snow, so quiet and peaceful.

Delicate decorations on every house deeply fascinated me that I couldn’t put my eyes elsewhere.
The entire town was filled with the atmosphere of Christmas.
The scenery of the town in both day and night time caught my eyes.

My days in town happened to be the Christmas holidays. Many trees and buildings were ornamented with astonishing paintings. Light balls and some Madonnas were placed by the streets. With the background of the mountains and Christmas songs, I mistook it for Disneyland.

Although my 2 days excursion was just a glimpse into a fairytale, all the magnificent landscapes, the Zugspitze, the sky, the snow, the lake Eibsee, the whole Garmisch-Partenkirchen has been comprehensively carved in my mind.

--

--