An Unforgettable Memory in a Mysterious Country — Myanmar

王暄雅
Photo Stories B
Published in
1 min readMar 1, 2020

Two years ago, I went to Myanmar on my own. I’ve always wanted to explore this mysterious country so eagerly. Therefore, I just booked the flight without any hesitation. On the fifth day of my two-week trip, I went to visit my friend’s family. As soon as I walked in the house, the whole family came to circle me around the dinner table and welcomed my presence with some homemade local food.

There was a person that caught my eyeballs. Her eyes were as bright as eyes of egos, but revealed beauty and peace from the inside. After two seconds, my friend’s mom introduced she and I to each other. Suddenly, she gave me a
warm and friendly hug and grabbed my hand ushering me into the dressing room. She put the traditional makeup “Thanaka” on my face, and she appeared to be proud of her masterpiece.
On that day, I stayed overnight in the house with “thanaka” on my face and fell to a sweet dream. In my dream, my family in Taiwan and the family in Myanmar have dinner together in Shwedagon Pagoda, which is the place defines peace also brings hope.

--

--