王暄雅
Photo Stories B
Published in
3 min readMar 18, 2020

--

Photos on Facebook in the Old Days

As I flipped through my Facebook page recently, I decided to write my own teenage memoir with the help of social media.

What are three things that Taiwanese teenagers cannot live without? If you asked me, I would say bangs, beauty cameras and social media, which was Facebook only at that period of time. Of course, I am talking about teenagers eight to ten years ago.

First things that drew my attention were the profile photos. As a high school student, beauty cameras were essential to make the skin look whiter and smoother.

What’s more? it is always better to cover the face. It does not matter which tool I used to cover. A photo frame, hair, the face of my friend etc. were all feasible to me.

The faces of my friends and I were usually cropped up by photo frames. It seemed that mystery played an important role among teenagers when it comes to profile photos on social media ten years ago.

This one seemed to be better than the previous ones. However, I have a question. What did I do to my friends? Their faces were just uncompleted.

As for candid photos, poses are crucial. Let’s see what I have got on my Facebook. I would personally describe it as a process of a transformation.

The whole setting, including the pose, hair and lightening made me look like a mysterious ghost.

Honestly, I do not understand what I was thinking when I was in high school. I hope the gesture was considered to be cool.

There must be a reason why did my friend wish me happy birthday with this photo. I hope it was not because she hated me.

Taking photos with a fork was actually not a bad idea. I was a natural model when I had a fork.

As I grow up, bangs, beauty cameras seem to be nothing to me. Social media is not as much important as I thought when I was a teenager. Moreover, the poses are becoming more and more natural. I like this transformation. I love who I am.

--

--