Photographer of the Week — Simone Cmoon

Photochain
Photochain
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2018

--

We are proud to release our second Photochain “Photographer of the Week” as part of a new series which gives contributors within the Photochain Community the chance to share their story about photography and sheds light on the diversity of our community.

This week, we introduce Simone Cmoon from Switzerland:

This is Simone’s Story

Hi, I am an internationally awarded landscape photographer, based in Zurich, Switzerland. For me, photography came into my life a bit over three years ago, when I first bought a little digital camera in spring 2015. At first, I just wanted to see if I like to take photos. Once I started to apply various filters to my first shots, I realized which way I would like to go and it felt like the first step of my vision was completed. Consequently, after three months with my little digicam, I bought a full frame camera to get better quality for more complex scenarios such as low light situations and the milky way. Today, I mostly work with my Nikon D850 and D810a and focal length between 14 and 200mm. I am also Haida Filter and Novoflex ambassador.

Full moon with corona — Lofoten

I love travelling, especially being in the nature — far away from civilisation, somewhere on the mountains. So whenever I find time to travel or to go on tours, I am out with my cam. The images I bring back from my tours are a combination of beautiful landscapes under special light and weather conditions and my feelings when I shoot them. Many of my images are focus stacked, multiple exposure panoramas during the golden and blue hour and under the jewels of the night sky.

When it comes to sources of inspiration, I take a lot from one of my best friends, Isabella Tabacchi. I love the fact the we can be at the same locations and bring home completely different images — very inspiring! There are so many fantastic photographers out there. One that stands out is Daniel Kordan, a master of photography with a superb character.

Monetization of art

In addition to selling my images as high class and limited prints, I also sell workshops, online coaching, video tutorials, and written tutorials via my website. I have several publications (interviews, images, etc.) in many photography magazines which helps me reach a larger audience to sell my work to.

It’s nice to earn money with the art I create. My main income does not come from selling my own images though, but from teaching others how to shoot via various tutorials, coaching, and workshops. Social Media plays an important role, as it allows me to not only get in touch with potential customers, but it’s also a great place to show and see art and to stay in contact with other artists and family.

My take on Photochain

I got introduced to Photochain by my neighbor and fellow photographer Fredi Lienhardt. I think that Photochain is working on an interesting mission, as it sets out to create a platform where artists receive a fair honor and remuneration for their hard work. Therefore, it presents a great opportunity for artists to gain better rewards for their art. Customers also profit from this, as it encourages photographers, who otherwise might not have published their images online, to showcase their artwork. So customers might even get exposed to more and maybe even better artwork. And, they know that the price they pay is actually going (to a large extend) to the artists themselves.

My ideal world

I think that we already live in paradise! The earth is beautiful and the main challenge is to protect and save our world; and to make it a good place for humans, animals, and nature.

● Photographer: Simone Cmoon (Cmoon View)

● Website/Portfolio: www.cmoonview.ch

● Instagram: www.instagram.com/cmoon_view

● Facebook: www.facebook.com/cmoonview

Make sure to follow Simone and Photochain on Instagram to see more great art from our contributors.

Join the fairer stock photography revolution, test our beta platform, register your account, and start uploading your images.

If you’re part of the Photochain Community and would like to share your story, please write to us at photographers@photochain.io

--

--

Photochain
Photochain

Using blockchain technology, Photochain returns the control over #licensing, #copyright, and trading back to #photographers, enabling fairer stock #photography.