Ryan Carver

7th St. San Francisco

Early 2013.

Ryan Carver
Photographic Pairings
1 min readOct 7, 2013

--

It had been months since I’d taken any photos. I carried the Mamiya 7ii around like I was gonna shoot something, and yet it never left my bag. I was stuck.

I decided to walk to work, down 7th street from Market to Townsend. One roll of film. Ten frames. Click the button ten times. Easy.

No. Excruciating; full of doubt.

Slowly my eyes opened, I shot this and that. Feeling good, loosening up. Two more. It’s gets harder; I’m running out of time. This; sure, why not. Click. Fuck it, click. Done.

I drop off the film; relieved. Hopeful, even.

I get it back. Nothing. Total crap. Am I better or worse off now? Who knows. Six months later, I look again. It’s not amazing, but there’s something there.

View the photographs.

--

--

Ryan Carver
Photographic Pairings

I make software, photographs, and rock music. Previously: VSCO, Adobe, Typekit, Google.