Ryan Carver

Matthew Rechs, NYC

September 2013

Ryan Carver
Photographic Pairings
1 min readOct 3, 2013

--

My third trip to New York. Second time really; one was mostly a hangover.

The entire purpose of the visit was for Matthew’s 40th birthday. A surprise party, on a boat. We did a few other things during our four days on the ground. The Museum of Natural History, a playground in Central Park, a lovely dinner. But this moment, the one where Matthew stands alone at the bow of the boat, drink in hand, the city behind him; that’s why I came. That’s why I brought the camera.

He’s expectedly distant. I only get three shots before he’s back to the party. One of them is worth a second look; the light was low, ISO 200 is terrible and I pushed the exposure too far. It’s what we got, but it makes him happy. It’s Matthew as he looked on September 29, 2013, pretty fucking pleased with self.

--

--

Ryan Carver
Photographic Pairings

I make software, photographs, and rock music. Previously: VSCO, Adobe, Typekit, Google.