A Maserati Biturbo — An Overdue Library Book — Rachel Maddow & The US Election

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readNov 25, 2016
Photograph- Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

A former dentist of mine had a sign in the entrance of his office:

Ignore your teeth and they will go away.

For years I did something similar with overdue library books. I put them in drawers and closed them shut. Then the overdue library book problem would not exist until I started getting large fine notifications from my Vancouver Public Library.

In the late 80s I was making a load of money taking photographs across Canada for annual reports. I was earning hefty day rates. My Italian repairman Girolamo (to protect him from harm I will not disclose his last name) called me up one day to tell me he had just the car to replace my Fiat (fix it again Tony) X-19. It was a maroon 1985 Maserati Biturbo. I fell for it and regretted that buy for years.

The horrible German transmission, a ZF, tended to clunk, the clutch slipped and water leaked into the gas, oil into the gas, gas into the oil, etc. Finally, I parked it in my garage like a library book. Many years later a crazy Spaniard (he told me he was a mechanical engineer) took it away for $500 and I felt a big heavy weight off my shoulder all gone.

Before the US election my Rosemary (48 years married) and I watched our hero Rachel Maddow and all her fine cohorts on MSNBC. We read everything we could from our expensive, daily-delivered NY Times. I even accessed CNN on my Samsung smart phone.

The day after the election, MSNBC and most of the editorials of the NY Times are inside a figurative drawer. We have not watched Rachel Maddow or the news at all. We find our afternoons strangely empty and we realize we must find some other pastime like reading real books. Perhaps that’s one for Trump in “my books.”

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net