A Photographic Tidbit For A Cloudy Day

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readSep 5, 2015
Noblex photographs in my Vancouver garden— Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

There is a lot of practical photographic info in my decaying brain. Unfortunately in an age of youth (all ages are the age of youth) I will die with most of this info disappearing into the ether as electricity in my synapses fades to zero.

One of the most practical of these photographic tidbits is that you never photograph a garden in the full daylight of a sunny day. Sunny days are good for tanning or for sitting on my garden bench with Rosemary’s cat Casi-Casi. To properly get all the shades of gray (in b+w or shades of green in colour) you need a nice cloudy day. If it is a bright cloudy day it is not quite as good but it will serve the purpose as it did here with these pictures that I took with my Noblex swivel lens panoramic. I used two different Ilford films, FP-4 Plus and Delta Pro. The image with the circular path is of the latter film. I now understand that for humans (of the unclothed kind) the latter film will produce a smoother skin. But for sharpness FP-4 is the better choice.

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net