A Time Machine Repaired

My Unusual Filipino Timex

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

--

My scan of my 1986 Timex

I have written about my 1986 Timex here and how it has this random quirk of sometimes stopping and then going backwards (in time).

Alas, last September my Timex would stop at exactly 11:24 and remain there until I moved the minute hand forward a bit. It did this, obviously, in the morning and the evening. No watchmaker in Vancouver would touch my time wonder. In September I was to go to Buenos Aires so my Rosemary insisted I purchase a new watch. I was able to get a titanium Seiko for $135 at the Bay (on sale).

A month ago I decided to write to Timex. This was the reply:

Please contact Fred Bitzer at:

727-376-4102 Florida

He is a watchmaker retired From Timex. We refer sentimental, vintage and pieces we no longer have parts or service for. He is highly recommended and will be happy to assist you.

Today my watch came back. It was working just fine except it was off! Of course Fred Bitzer, in Florida had set my watch to his time. In a phone call Mr. Bitzer asked me if I wanted to replace the glass as he thought it was in bad shape. I told him my Timex was much like an old Corvette with its original paint job. Bitzer further informed me that my Titanium Timex was one of the best watches the company ever made (there was a smaller ladies’ version) but that they stopped production because of increasing costs in the forging of the titanium case. I am now a happy man. I am wearing it again and I will soon, in my tub, see if for only a few moments I can go back in time. Thank you Fred!

A Timex, a fake Rolex & Vivica Lindfors

Link to: A Time Machine Repaired

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net