Anemone coronaria ‘Harmony Blue’ & Rosemary

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readJan 28, 2019
Anemone coronaria ‘Harmony Blue’, 27 January 2019

After 50 years of being married to my Rosemary, almost every day brings me a surprise about her, some hidden quality I was not aware of.

Today we went to Safeway, here in Vancouver, to buy some food. On the way back she said, “Can we pass by Thomas Hobbs (his nursery is called Southlands)? “ I answered, “It is 4:30 (it would be closing by five) and I am cold.” But I felt guilty and instead of turning right onto 49thon Marine Drive I turned left.

At that time there were no customers. I spotted this blue anemone and I knew I was going to spend $13. There were others that had three or four buds. Only this one had (only one) a wide open flower. I had all the intentions of scanning it.

Rosemary did what she always does at Tom’s (it drives me crazy), she filled a paper cup with free coffee. She brings it into the car and this means that I have to drive carefully so she will not spill it on herself or on the centre console cup holder.

I keep telling Rosemary (today one of our toilets was stuck and she could not navigate the pump), “What are you going to do when I am dead?”

She must know that my worry is a worse one and a far more selfish one:

What will I do if Rosemary dies before me?

Link to: Anemone coronaria ‘Harmony Blue’ & Rosemary

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net