Cara o Cruz

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readApr 2, 2018
Photograph — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

Sometimes the differences between the various forms of Spanish, be that from Spain or from Latin America leave me in a wonder of amusement.

Consider this splendid scan of a negative peel from a Polaroid b+w instant print film. My subject was the beautiful (and beyond) Caitlin Legault.

I have many holes to fill in my blog stretching back to January, Februry and March. I will have to soon write my blogs about our trips to NY and to Mérida. Meanwhile it is far easier to look for a picture (randomly), re-scan it and then contemplate how I can write a blog about it. This is all about association.

I have written many times before that I believe that our human ability to associate disparate elements is what makes us human. Perhaps a cat’s reaction to hitting a can of food with a spoon could be a minor form of association.

My association with Legault’s photograph is with flipping coins. In English it is “heads or tails.” In Mexican Spanish it is, “águila or sol”. This has to do with the eagle on most coins and its obverse which can be an Aztec sun calendar.

But it is the Argentine coin flip that I associate with Legault.

Cara o cruz,” face or cross.

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net