Cheescake & Beefcake

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readAug 28, 2016
Photographs — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

In the late 50s my grandmother shared her Lomas de Chapultepec home with our distant relatives, the Mirandas. By then my uncle Luis’s daughter was past being a teenager and she invited all kinds of handsome men to what seemed to be weekly parties. One day I heard her say, “So and so has SA.” I had no idea what she meant so I asked. She told me, “Sex appeal.”

My guess is that term is long forgotten in this 21stcentury.

I am not sure if in the Mexico City of this century that quaint 20thcentury word for a really voluptuous woman “una lechugita” or little lettuce is still in effect. My guess is that with the advent of social media and the loss of subtlety the terms today are more graffic in just about any language.

In the 80s I photographed Mike Hamill and Carla Temple who ran a fitness gym called The Olympic Gym. I was well paid for these series ofphotographs that became ads.

Then I would have said that these pictures are prime examples of beefcake and cheesecake. I wonder what would be the equivalent now?

Link to: Cheescake & Beefcake

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net